I’ll take my time,

whatever I have left,

to do what I said.

I can only do my best.

I’ll take your words

hold them dear to my heart.

Acknowledge I’m getting weaker

since we’ve been apart.

I’ll take no advice.

When did I get so weak?

I feel like I’m dying.

I won’t let myself speak.

My heart is so ragged.

It’s all that I’ve got.

It’s burned at the edges

by the things that I’m not.

Why can’t they look at me?

Why don’t they see what I am?

Since you can’t see me

I don’t give a damn.

I just want to add that I paraphrased lines from two songs in this poem,

“My heart’s a little ragged but it’s all that I’ve got.” is a line from a Steve Earl song.

“Why can’t they look at me, see what I see?” is a line from a song by the band Cold.

Music always inspires me, because what are lyrics but poems set to melody?

Leave a Reply

