Blue eyes

My eyes will never be brown again.

They will be green, tinged with sadness,

or others will see the slight silver shining at the rims

with tears I have yet to cry for you.

Or they will be red, bloodshot,

as I stare at myself in the bathroom mirror,

wondering what I am now that you are no longer with me.

My eyes will always be blue now,

while yours are shut for good.

Closed in quiet repose.

Time will slowly pass by for me,

for you time will fly.

Or not exist.

With nothing to measure it by,

neither sun nor starlight,

how will you know how long I will mourn you?

Lest by tears that fall on deaf ears

past sightless eyes

to keep your skin fresh and new

and all together what my last thought of you was,

how you will be fixed forever in my memory:

breathless,

with eyes closed and no pulse under your skin at all,

save the pulse of the pieces of all the hearts that are lying beside you.

Pieces from hearts that are beating still,

though they can never be whole again.

For you, there is no noise, only the sound

of my voice breaking.

Silence where once words

might pour out uncontrollably; the spring has run dry.

All the fluidity in me, verbal or otherwise,

has poured out now from my eyes

to keep your skin fresh and new

and all together like the fixed, eternal

thought of you with eyes closed

and no pulse from under your skin.

Your eyes are closed forever

and mine

now eternally blue.

Leave a Reply

