Down

I couldn’t let go so he did.

I couldn’t stop him, didn’t know that he slid

so far down, down, down.

I just saw the ripples as he drown.

I tried to do what I thought was right.

He jumped off the ledge and was out of my sight

so far down, down, down.

And I can’t do a single thing now.

He’s never coming back to me.

I can’t go back there; I can’t change anything.

I’m so down, down, down.

Maybe I can go on, don’t know how.

I’ll never get back what was lost.

I deserve to pay, but it’s too high a cost.

I’m so down, down, down.

I’d sell my soul just to have him around.

Leave a Reply

