Scarecrow

She planted flowers for him

every day for twenty-eight years.

Then one day he was gone; she didn’t know where.

The good things don’t last

They fade into the past.

Turn brown like dying grass.

He watched her tend to things

every day for all his life.

He loved her through the good, she held him through the strife.

But good things don’t stay.

Watch them wash away

Like dirt on rainy days.

I hear them every night,

listen as they cry their tears.

I feel the pain they feel and bone-shattering fears.

I want to turn around.

I want to let him down.

But I am honor bound.

2 thoughts on “Scarecrow

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much
    about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with some pics to drive the
    message home a little bit, but other than that, this is
    magnificent blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

    • Thanks very much. I will have to work on the picture thing…I have included a couple in recent posts, just because I had some that were relevant…but I will have to work on finding some good images. Thanks for the input!

Leave a Reply

