Choices

How do people make decisions?

How do they decide which option to choose?

Does everyone torture themselves like me,

trying to come up with answers and plans?

Does anyone think about what they are doing:

holding the weight of lives in their hands?

Or do they just act on the spur of the moment,

never picturing what the future might hold,

never questioning if what they’ve done is right

or if it will one day leave them out in the cold?

How can I follow my heart,

when clearly it’s been wrong before,

when what I think I want at the moment

could break hearts that I’ve already broken before?

If I’m not happy, what does that matter?

When you’ve spent your whole life just being ok,

when all you’ve known is contentment or less,

how do you know happiness is worth the risk of walking away?

Leave a Reply

