For my little sister

I think of you always

because you are a part of me.

I think “who will love you

as much as I love you,

for as long as I have and still do?”

When we were young I held your hand

and tried to keep you out of danger,

and safe from the harm that I saw in our terrible life.

I knew that would always be my place.

And to this day, still I long

to pull out the weed-like thoughts of things

that no one as good and perfect as you should ever have to think.

And to leave behind only blooms, memories as beautiful as you are,

to think on when you are sad or cold or need sheltering

from this world that will never deserve you.

I think of you always, when I am alone,

and then I know there is hope for us all.

Leave a Reply

