knowledge

I learned to love at seventeen,

and one month later to be mean.

I learned to hate very young,

and sooner yet to hold my tongue.

I learned good kisses at twenty-two,

and what agony we put us through.

I learned that time can heal our scars;

that no one can fake a love like ours.

I learned patience.   I learned pain.

I learned things are equal, but with different names.

I learned its easy to betray,

but so, so hard to walk away.

I learned that some tears you cannot dry

No matter how we try and try.

Leave a Reply

