trailing behind

They tell me I should be over you by now,

like I can forget a broken heart and a kept vow.

They must think you are something I venerate.

Perhaps they feel it’s time to medicate

all the emotions I have for you away.

Like they don’t mean anything, like I have no say.

I do not idolize you, my dear.

Idols are meaningless, tangible gear

for good people with that kind of faith.

You are something I can not feel, not being any place.

You are a thought tangled into everything I think

that flashed in my mind like a comet or a wink.

So striking your rise, so sudden your fall,

leaving me wondering if I had seen you at all;

in an instant, changing everything that I was.

Leave a Reply

