Scratch

Living here among the callousness

and all the conditions faced,

I have a need to become nameless,

blameless

once more.

If I let go of all that I am

could I somehow be given,

mercifully,

the chance to start clean and new again,

and be entirely unaccountable

for my former misdeeds?

Could my past be wiped away

with the flick of a wrist

or the promise that I

have learned my infernal lesson?

Could I be allowed peace of mind at last?

To have the past washed away like footprints on a shore

not to be seen in this world anymore?

I could start from scratch,

but knowing what I know now

and at least having half a chance

at happiness, which always

seems to just escape my grasp.

Leave a Reply

